Audio-Technica ATH-E50 Question

I am just getting started in ‘serious listening’. My primary output device is a Dell XPS laptop with a ‘RealTek Hi Def Audio’ system and the MusicBee player (Windows 10). Plus I have a Line6 external guitar amplifier simulator and can use their headphone output as I can, if I choose, use that USB attached sound card instead of the RealTek set. This is not a cheap device, BTW.

My listening sources are a set of JBL 305 monitor speakers (5 inch, front port, and appropriate for this small room and near field listening - they are literally shoved onto a busy/full set of closed bookshelves), Skullcandy Hesh 3 headphones, and a pair of ATH-E50 IEM’s that I just received. My questions are:

1. There is a very small background hiss (typically un-noticed but it is there at moderately high volumes when the music goes suddenly quiet) when the E50’s are driven by the Line6 output. I don’t hear that anywhere else in any other combination. Is this just the result of a dramatic impedance mismatch?

2. The bass is REALLY understated vs. the (admittedly Bass Booming) Hesh 3’s and my monitor speakers. This is dramatic and not obviously fixable (if you want it fixed) via the EQ in MusicBee. Just was interested in perspective here.

Thanks.

dave

1 Like

Without knowing specifically which of the Line6 products you have, nor specifically which Dell laptop, it’s impossible to say what’s going on. But it is not beyond the realms of reality that the op-amp driven output on the Dell has lower hiss/noise levels than the Line6 box’s output.

Hiss isn’t a direct product of impedance mismatching, though often raising the impedance of the transducer will result in it being less audible. Devices like “iEMatch” will usually fix it either way if the issue only occurs with sensitive IEMs (like the E50).