Advanced Sound Alpha

I didn’t see any posts regarding the original Advanced Sound Alpha and now that the revision is up on Indiegogo, I thought I would drop my original review on here so you can have a reference as too how they sound since the revision isn’t making changes in that department. Here is a link to the revisions: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/alpha-1-2-ultimate-planar-magnetic-headphones#/

Advanced Alpha - Review

Advanced Alpha - Review

Preface:

I am not a professional reviewer, nor am I an audio guru; I do not have “trained” ears so my explanation of sound may be what some consider “simple” or in “layman” terms. I am not a photographer either, all pics were taken with my LG V30.

Also, I purchased the Advanced Alpha headphones with my hard-earned money, I am in no way associated with Adv-Sound. I purchased the Advanced Alpha because I wanted an upgrade over my other headphones and they seemed to fit the niche I was looking for based off my findings in researching this purchase. This review is unbiased and unaltered and is my own personal opinion of the Advanced Alpha.

My preferred sound signature can be described as an extended sub-bass with a balanced and textured mid-bass. The mids should be forward but less than the treble but in front of the bass. I prefer a bright and sparkly upper range but not sibilant or shouty. My current headphones are the Monoprice M560 and M1060, Beyer Dynamic Custom Studio, Hifiman HE-350 and the House of Marley TTR noise cancelling headphones. I also have the RHA CL750 and Advanced Model 3 in-ear monitors.

I used the following equipment to “test” the Advanced Alpha. Microsoft Surface Pro 3 connected via usb to a Topping D30 dac and A30 amp. I also connected a Little Dot MKII to the Topping D30. A Hifiman Megamini DAP was tested solo and also with a Fiio Q1. I did some listening also from my LG V30. The majority of files were FLAC but I did use some lower quality just to see how the Alpha scaled them.