Audiophile Transformers?

If you live in one part of the world, but buy an amplifier from another part of the world, say a Norwegian (230V) buying from the USA (110V), you need to transform the voltage. There are probably good and bad ways of doing this, and good (“audiophile”) transformers and bad (noisy) transformers. Or perhaps it’s possible to just dig into the amp you just bought and tinker.

What are the best solutions? Or: What are the best transformers for such tasks?

2 Likes

Now, I am only going on what I am told here, not what I know as I am not an electrical engineer…

I discussed this in the past with a couple of electrical engineers we have on our team and their answer was that AC to AC transformers don’t introduce noise, or at least, not to the point where it matters. AC to DC transformers are the ones that create noise.

They went into a lot of detail but basically they said that the power you receive already goes through many transformers that reduce the voltage on its way from the electrical station to you home/work/whatever. Tens of thousands of of volts are reduced along the way until it is the final 220V (or 110V) and because the it is still AC, the wave forms stay the same.

They say that having a simple AC to DC transformers plugged in somewhere on your circuit at home will introduce more noise than any of the AC to AC transformers, unless the AC to AC transformer has an issue.

Again, this is only what I am told so do not take this as fact without research.

5 Likes

Thank you, SenyorC, that makes sense. I had a (self made) dimmer switch for the lights once, and I had to choose between dimmed lights and playing music. That thing made a LOT of noise! But I can see transformers would be reasonably harmless, and the assurances of that from your team are gold. Thank you! :slight_smile:

3 Likes