Favorite Mid-Priced Tube Amp (ie:1k USD or less)?

Hello folks. My situation’s a little unique. I’m new to headphones but not audio: I’ve recorded and mixed my own music for years, but always on studio monitors, studiously avoiding headphones over $100 due to their reputation for messing up mixes, but that’s changed with new tech, so I just jumped from my Sennheiser tracking headphones (HD280 v2, $80 used) to Raal sr1a with Jotunheim R (a wee bit pricier). My primary intended use here is mixing, though pleasure is great too! E

ither way, I’m looking at tube amps to provide a little extra warmth before the Jotunheim, but nothing that will take away too much in resolution, so something that can do the job with warm clarity and gooey goodness that doesn’t get messy in the process.

Currently Drop La Figaro 339i looks good, seems like a sensible pricing, but I must admit I don’t know what to look for. I know its OTL, will it distort as essentially a preamp for the Jotunheim? Will it be too clean because its OTL? Are there better options in its price range, or only better than stock tubes? Would a Feliks Echo, Schiit Valhalla, Hagerman Tuba, or something else do better here?

2 Likes

My three favorites under 1K are the Haggerman Tuba, SW51+(which is now basically unavailable) and the Crack with Speedball.
I don’t think any of them will be ideal as a preamp.

1 Like

Have you considered a Schiit Freya+ ? @MrCypruz gave it a “glowing” reference: :wink:

4 Likes

The Echo has been amazing pairing with all the dynamic drivers I’ve plugged into it. Let me know if you have any questions!

3 Likes

It’s an excellent pre-amp for the $$$! Check out YouTube reviews and written reviews on the inter web from renowned reviewers…Schiit did something special there and kept it below $900! Impressive Schiit indeed!!!

2 Likes