Linear Power Supplies for DACs/Amps

This is a discussion of upgrades for AMP’s and DAC’s using linear power supply units.

I am trying to find a used Paul Hynes SR4. Does anyone have any information about this PSU?

Happy Cake Day @Doc.

1 Like

Thank you! After reading your bio, we both grew up in similar times and have similar tastes, even to our preference for a clear and prominent high end. Thank you for the welcome. I hope we can get some guys interested in linear power supplies as the switched ones that come with a lot of DACs including mine (Qutest) can be considered as a last minute decision on the part of the production team. Good luck with your pulmonary situation. I am a retired ER physician. - been an audiophile all my life, migrating to a serious interest in headphone listening about 2007. My room system is now minimal on purpose.

1 Like

I’ve done a bunch of testing for this sort of thing over the years. Both for individual components and for systems. The outcomes of those tests have been highly consistent. In general they show that if you’re replacing an external switching PSU (e.g. a “wall wart” or other “brick”) with a linear one, then:

• In components that are purely analog, with no additional switching supplies inside the device itself, then there can be a measurable change in performance. Though outside cases of poor internal regulation and poor initial PSU quality, those measurable changes rarely reach the level of audibility.

• In components that do have additional internal switching supplies (most DACs for example, as they often need to do level shifting for different parts of the circuit), replacing their external PSUs has had no measurable effect on the output of the component at all. That has held in almost every case, even when the replacement linear PSU is demonstrably cleaner at its output than the switcher it replaces.