LSA HP-2 Ultra Discussion

LSA HP-2 Ultra Impressions

I couldn’t find a good thread for this. So I created one. As always, feel free to move!

IMG_0562

This is the next chapter in the path to finding a great headphone. This is the highest tier “dynamic driver” I have heard yet. Let’s see how it compares.

About this Headphone

I don’t usually write this kind of section. And I still won’t cover the specs as you can look them up yourself easily. But this one needs some explanation. This is a “horn loaded” dynamic driver headphone. That seems a bit odd in the context of a headphone. In the simplest explanation, horns amplify the sound and control frequencies directionally. I am not a sound engineer, and I am not qualified to explain it.

More importantly, this is the LSA HP-2 Ultra which is an internet direct version of the Kennerton Gjallarhorn GH50. This is not to be confused with the Kennerton Gjallarhorn JM Edition which was created based on a fan modification of the original. That’s right, there are 3 models (all available in multiple woods), two of which should sound very very similar. The 3rd (JM Edition) is far more “neutral”.

Why this headphone?

Luck? Stupidity? Inability to resist a unique idea? Peer pressure? (seriously, a whole group of us bought this thing together). Other reviews have been really right in the right ways. And yet, I still think I didn’t get the right idea about this headphone pre-purchase.

But, to answer the question more directly, I really like my drop ether cx. It has ZMF pads now and a hart audio cable. It has an ethereal sound that is just stunningly clear. I have never heard such exceptional clarity. But it isn’t engaging . The hp-2 is dipping a toe into very well reviewed dynamic headphones. And an exceedingly unique and possibly very high value one.

What am I using and comparing?