New or Used?

Looking for your thoughts. I am a fanatic about saving money. I have had terrific success buying used off of Ebay, Craigslist and other sites. I know some people will ONLY buy new. What about you?? What’s the best deal you’ve gotten?

So far I’ve only purchased new headphones since I tend to keep every pair I buy until they break or sometimes give away to someone who needs/wants a pair. The only used headphones I’d consider purchasing/trading would be from friends/family/acquaintances I know personally. I enjoy unboxing new items and when it comes to technical products I like knowing that they haven’t been abused and are performing optimally.

Also, since I’m very passionate about music I tend to form a bond with a set of cans similar to how I become attached to a musical instrument after playing it for a while.

I’ve so far only bought new, but I’m just getting into the used market. I think there is a lot of value to be had in trading with others, if at least for the opportunity to connect with a fellow hobbyist.

I do both, depending on what the item is and how sure I am I want to keep it.

If I’m buying used, it’s generally because the item isn’t readily available new (discontinued, heavily back-ordered, it’s a Massdrop item that the drop has finished for, or has very long build-times) or it’s because I’m not planning on keeping the item and don’t want to lose more on it than I have to.

However, when buying used I generally don’t expect to pay more than about 60% of what the item currently costs new (I don’t care how much was originally paid). I make occasional exceptions for very hard to get stuff, or for things that are essentially new (box was opened, unit tested, buyer didn’t like it, and it’s only a week or so old).