Planar Magnetic IEMS - An emerging segment?

Hi everyone! I am new here in the community and I am from a startup called Danico Labs from Singapore. We are newcomers to Planar Magnetic IEMS segment.

Recently, been quite some interest in this area with models such as the Unique melody ME1 and RHA CL2. There are even new technologies such as planamic IEMS from MEE and magnetostatic IEMS from Earbridge. Has anyone auditioned them and what is your experience with these planar magnetic IEMS?

Also, if anyone is interested in the engineering aspect/challenges of these, ask away. I can offer up some of my humble experience in the area. I am not an expert in any sense, but do have experience in developing a planar magnetic IEM for my company.

6 Likes

Iā€™m curious as to the technical point of (i.e. benefits or reasoning for) using a planar-magnetic driver in something with a driver as small as that would feature in an IEM.

I get that, with large drivers, the idea is that having the motive force for the driver be active over the vast majority of the driver area leads to the driver acting more like a perfect piston, reducing smearing, blurring, and other distortions that would otherwise arise from break-up modes as the surface of the driver deforms under acceleration.

That would be a much smaller problem in the relatively tiny drivers (8-10mm seems common for IEMs with a dynamic driver in them). Itā€™d be interesting to know, if thatā€™s part of the rationale, how much of a difference in distortion performance, at audio-relevant frequencies, there is.

I know there are also benefits in terms of linear impedance/frequency response. And a single driver avoids coherence, crossover, phase and other issues, but thatā€™s true for a dynamic driver IEM as well.

5 Likes

I did a review of the RHA CL2 recently: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yv5pVlN-Suo