Looking for advice re digitizing CD collection

I finally got a little headphone station going and Qobuz seems to be working fine.

My dilemma is what to do with my cd collection. I could just ignore it, leave it where it is in storage and just use Qobuz. But there are always things that Qobuz will be missing.

This of course leads to ripping the cds. I have been a software developer for a long time so I can get deeply technical - but I don’t want this to become a major project. The equipment is supposed to serve me, not the other way around.

I don’t want to have to be a network admin and ‘manage’ things. We all know how this goes. The more things you put online the more there is to break and maintain.

Seems like just hanging a disk off the network (a NAS essentially) and saving the rips there might get the job done.

I’m currently demoing JRiver and I’m leaning toward keeping that. I can send all Windows sound to it and have the capability for EQ, VST etc. Yes, I know this adds the complexity I’m complaining about but it’s also the reason I don’t want to make it worse.

I haven’t researched all the options yet but I thought some of you might have been down this path and could give some direction to a simple-ish solution.

Thanks!

5 Likes

Ripping the CDs to FLAC is a relatively straightforward process. With a good drive it’s a couple of minutes at most per disc. Though obviously if you have a lot of discs this can get very time consuming.

There are lots of software options to do this with (I use the dBPowerAmp ripper for single-disc sessions*) … many of which permit verification that the rip is accurate (no errors).

Most ripper applications do a decent job of metadata and artwork retrieval as well, though invariably some level of manual editing/correction winds up being required.

But, yes, ripping to FLAC and then storing the files on a NAS device or a dedicated server is a pretty common way to go. And that approach will work fine with JRiver.