Primephonic - Classical Music Streaming

Primephonic is a classical music streaming service that Ive been using regularly for 2 months. There hasn’t been much said about it on this forum and since it fills a void for classical music that is usually poorly addressed by most other contemporary streaming services I felt I should offer up a review/impression of the service.

Quick evaluation : if you are a classical music fan disappointed by other streaming services than this is an option to very strongly consider (assuming you are OK with the monthly fee).

If you want more details then read on.

Primephonic can be accessed via mobile device or computer. I use Apple products and I have had no issue using the app on either phone or tablet. The web player, which is my primary means of accessing Primephonic, has some quirks that I will mention below.

Things to Improve

First, it wont work on Safari. If you are a MacBook user Chrome or Firefox (what I use) are supported. The playback on Safari is simply dreadful with distortion and artefacts. The radio service (a potentially nice music exploration tool) is not available on the web player as such. There are some curated playlists that serve the same function but may not provide the same experience as the radio feature on the app. There is no app for MacOS at this time.

An unfortunate phenomena can occur when multitasking. If I do nothing and just listen to the music then playback sounds very consistent and I have little to no hangups; however, if I begin accessing other tabs, browsers or even moving within the Primephonic site itself there can be little breaks in the music playback as you scroll around or click elsewhere. They are very brief but can disrupt the musical engagement. It’s by no means a deal breaker for me but it is a flaw. Not sure if a dedicated app for MacOS would eliminate this. I haven’t tried using Chrome as a browser to see if it exists there.