Quicksilver Audio HPA

I’ve been listening to the Quicksilver Audio Headphone Amp for several months and very impressed with the performance. There is so little written about this amp and the company, not sure how many head-fi’ers have even heard of this company and amplifier. Quicksilver has zero advertising, almost zero reviewers, and no hype.

It’s a full class-A SET tube amp hand made in the USA in Stockton California. It’s price is extremely attractive at $1198 direct from the factory. Each unit is handmade in the US.

Quicksilver’s tubes used are frequently seen in other brands of headphone amps. The signal path per channel is one each EL-84 pentode driver, 12AX7 dual triode signal tube, transformer, Alps Blue velvet volume control and a capacitor. Very minimal components in the signal path to color the sound.

Easy to tube roll with plentiful new manufacture and NOS tubes to swap-out for experimenting.

The sound is simply terrific and can easily be compared to amps 2.5x the price. Drive it with a nice DAC and the sound is classic slightly holographic, slightly warm, but never bloomy or boomy. At CanJam SoCal recently trying every fantasy headphone tube amp, it’s difficult to blow this little tube amp out of the water.

This amp paired well with a wide range of headphones over extended listening sessions; ZMF Aeolus, ZMF Verite Open, HD650, and Audeze LCD-4z.

Appreciate what other thank who have listened to the Quicksilver HPA.

10 Likes

There’s a great article on it if anyone wants additional info. Looks very solid…

3 Likes

Fantastic review, very accurate. Thank you for sharing it.

The DAC behind the amp is key. Meaning this little amp will run at the performance level of source gear behind it. Crazy thing is the amp is only $1198 for this much capability.

1 Like

I don’t think you mentioned it but what dac did you use with it, out of curiosity?