Raising the Hifiman Arya from the dead

I have a first Generation Hifiman Arya, with a left driver that has failed.

How can I get the Arya repaired?

TL;DR
My local audio engineer spoke to the Dutch importer, looking for a replacement driver, but he said there are no replacements parts and that “the Arya are never repaired”. Is this true?

Details
I bought the Arya second hand, but it worked for approximately two hours, then cut out. :tired_face:
I took it to a reputable audio engineer that rebuilt the connector mechanism thinking that was the issue, but they cut out again. After further investigation, he concluded that the foil driver has one —or more— hairline fractures, but he couldn’t locate any breaks.

Financial and emotional impact
These cost we €895 with the repair cost that didn’t work. I am absolutely gutted. I had to save hard for these.
Is there some way to turn this nightmare around?

I have zero repair knowledge to contribute just wanted to say sorry for your loss. It sucks when something like this happens. Maybe contact Hifiman and see if they’ll give you a trade option for a newer Arya?

1 Like

Given that they worked only 2 hours before they failed I would suspect that the person who sold it to you had a reason to get rid of them.

I would suggest approaching them for a refund after first checking your local equivalent of a small claims court for a plan b.

You worked hard for your money. Work just as hard for your rights.

2 Likes

Thanks guys for your replies. Much appreciated.

I did both your suggestions already.

The engineer spoke with the Hifiman rep and he was prepared to offer me 20% discount on a new pair. That means paying another 1000+. (On the Hifiman new price).
Firstly, I don’t have that sort of money. Secondly investing again in a product that —should it fail— seems unrepairable, would be foolish. (Once bitten, twice shy).
I don’t trust the Hifiman brand anymore.