Stoner, Sludge, Doom Discussion

I’ll start with some of my top albums, perennial favourites. What are some of your heavy picks?

Dopethrone - Hochelaga (2015)

Links

Bandcamp + YouTube + Discogs + Metal Archives

Acid Bath - When The Kite String Pops (1994)

Links

Windhand - Grief’s Infernal Flower (2015)

Links

Cough - Ritual Abuse (2010)

Links

Brume - Donkey (2015)

Links

Thou - Heathen (2014)

Links

Nightstick - Ultimatum (1998)

Links

Iron Monkey - Iron Monkey (1997)

Links

Indian - From All Purity (2014)

Links

2 Likes

I don’t feel like I’m an expert here, being more an indie dad rock kind of guy, but

1 Like

Sunn O))) and Sleep are always solid choices - I’ve seen both live and they were both tremendous.

1 Like

Monster Magnet:

Dozer (a band from my hometown):

2 Likes

Best recorded doom album would be Bell Witch “mirror reaper”

Check it out, it’s an hour long and picks up speed. You need to be patient and listen to it as a whole to grasp what they are doing.

1 Like

I haven’t kept up very well, but I wrote this little survey about a million years ago …

4 Likes

I enjoyed reading that article a great deal @Steve_Dollar

All the noted bands are essential listening and will lead readers/listeners in myriad directions, musically - your article provides a quite excellent primer. I really appreciate the reference to Melvins. A band frequently noted in (mainstream music press) articles pertaining to Nirvana and usually as a bit-part player, credited with introducing Dave Grohl to the band and because of Dale Crovers early (short-lived) association with them, but often skipped past in terms of their notable contributions to stoner and sludge and the scene as a whole.