Best dj headphone

Recently joined music mixing career and as a beginner I have gotten a pioneer turntable, next up is a decent headset for mixing, I’m looking at DJ headphones and found some amazon, this one, also I researched on google and found this tech blog https://appuals.com/best-dj-headphones/. Are Sony MDR7506 really that good? thanks in advance!

I can’t recommend a specific set of headphones, only some ideas to consider. They have to be durable; they will be banged around more than a normal set. Make sure that you can replace as much as you can…or remove to repair/clean: cables, head band, earpads. Most dj’s also prefer a tighter fitting set, as you will likely be moving more than a person just listening to music in their lazyboy…you don’t want them sliding around when you get sweaty. A decent example are the beyerdyanamic DT 880 Pros as compared to the DT 880 special editions. The performance may not be what you are looking for, but the physical build of the unit is. They have a narrower fit on your head, easy to replace earpads, and they’re made for studio use and will stand up to punishment. Hopefully someone can point you in the direction of some specific units.

PS…welcome to the forum.

3 Likes

Sennheiser hd-25-ii was what I used. Great sound, great attenuation, and comfortable for long hours. Change to velor pads to absorb sweat as nightclubs are hot places. Worth the $$. I’ve had a pair of hd-25 since 1999

1 Like

Sennheiser is easy on the treble, sony’s were too much highs…in a club you’ll oush the volume up and I thought the sony highs would do too much damage to my ears.

1 Like

“Are Sony MDR7506 really that good?"

Yes.

If you want to hear EXACTLY what’s on the recording, these are the phones. I use nothing else to mix down and EQ podcasts.

1 Like

Also…get in the habit of practicing at low volumes as you want to work on your ability to focus on the particular instrument you’re beat matching with.