Crackle or hiss during certain parts of certain tracks across multiple devices?

What model are you having issues with?:
Windows 10>Asus x570 Pro>Topping d30pro> Drop + THX AAA 789>Balanced XLR cable>Focal Celestee

Other devices tested on:
FiiO e10k, Monoprice m1060c

How long ago was it purchased?:
e10k+m1060: many years ago.
x570: early last year
Everything else: Within the last 3 months

Describe your issue with the most detail you can:

I’m no musician or audio engineer but one assumption is I’m hearing flaws in these recordings for the first time? It’d be equally impressive and frustrating. :laughing: I’ve noticed for a while a very faint crackling/hiss on certain sounds in some songs. I can best describe it as similar to a crinkle of a small plastic candy wrapper. Kinda faint crackle/hiss.

I have replicated this on my mobo’s DAC from an Asus x570 prime and my e10k. I recently got a THX 789+Topping d30pro and can hear it through that also. It happens on both my Focal Celestee and my old m1060’s.

It happens at low volume as well as high. I’ve turned my Windows sample rate to the max and the lowest and hear it on both. I use PEACE/APO and can hear it with it enabled and disabled. I’ve tried another computer using the motherboard out. I also can push the sound out to the Topping with Tidal’s exclusive mode, I think this would bypass both Windows and peace.

One thing is I cannot hear it if I pull the song up on youtube but I’m not sure if that could just be because of a lower bitrate on youtube? Especially with the older songs. I downgraded the quality to low on Spotify but can hear it still. I try it on Tidal and can hear it there but cannot hear it on low, but hear it just the same on hifi quality.
How does it sound on your equipment?

You can find an example in this song at around 1:26 with a lot of drum hits.

Another would be 2:22ish here.

Vince Staples - Street Punks w/ every drum hit again