Massdrop Plus Universal IEM Review

A quick note and some background: This is my first time ever writing a full review of an audio product so I’m not exactly the next Tyll Herstens, please bear with me :blush:. I’ll admit I am not the best at describing sound, but I plan to judge these IEM’s harshly and try not to let new toy syndrome influence my review. Keep in mind, I have a preference for Neutral and mid-centric sound signatures. YMMV.

My go-to Songs used to test:

Lake Street Dive – Mistakes

Metallica – The Unforgiven

Fleetwood Mac – Oh Diane

Lorde – White teeth teens

Post Malone – Stay

Childish Gambino – IV. Sweatpants

Yosi Horikawa – Stars

I have a very mixed library of music with just about every genre except for country and classical.

Source: iPhone 7 w/ Apple lightning to 3.5mm dongle (less than 1 ohm output impedance)

Overview: The Massdrop Plus IEMs come in a hard-shell case with a thick foam lining. In the box you receive three bags of tips containing double flanged, foam, and standard silicone tips of all sizes. You also receive a Velcro strap for tying up the cable and a small cleaning tool.

Fit and build quality: The MD+ sits flush in the ear and can only be worn over ear. I’m not someone who typically has comfort issues with IEM’s so take that for what it’s worth. I found the MD+ to be extremely comfortable. They just sort of disappear after a few minutes of listening. My only gripe is that the stock cable is a little more prone to microphonics compared to my beloved Pinnacle PX. When I am walking around or just moving my head a lot, I can hear the cable moving around a good bit but it’s not super noticeable. The PX on the other hand seems to handle moving around a bit better. Over all, the build quality is on par for what I’d expect at the $300 price point. The cable which is braided, doesn’t tangle easily and the 3.5mm connector has a nice knurled edge to it. The IEMs themselves have a hard plastic body with a dark blue color.