Sennheiser HD 6XX vs. Hifiman Sundara SHOWDOWN REVIEW

Hi all,

I know that a lot of people compare the 6xx and the Sundara and wonder if they should get one or the other, so I thought I’d add my experiences in the hope that it might help someone. Also I’m dying to talk about how these two headphones sound compared to each other.

Disclaimer

I’m a novice to audiophile gear, and have only a heard a tiny fraction of what’s out there to compare things to. My opinions here are all entirely subjective and my own and your mileage may vary etc. My ears will be different from yours.

I used both headphones with the same combo:

Dac: JDS Labs DAC+
Amp: Rebel Audio RebelAmp
Music Source: Qobuz via Roon

I have tried the Sundara on the Zen Can and the Atom Amp. As I note below, I thought the treble could be a bit harsh on the Atom Amp on some tracks, but the extra warmth of both the Can and the Rebel tamed them (with the Rebel sounding significantly better, but you’d hope it would for the price).

I’ve heard that the 6XX in particular can take on different characteristics based on the amp you use with it, but I don’t have anything else to test it on right now, so keep that in mind. Everything I say below might be different if you use a different DAC and amp.

Background

I’ve owned a Sundara for a while now and decided I wanted another headphone. The primary reason is comfort–I love the way the Sundaras sound, but they’re heavy enough to become wearying after wearing them all day, which is what I’ve been doing since I’ve been working from home.

The Sundaras also seem to put too much pressure where my jaw meets the rest of my skull, which is particularly sensitive, and even after bending the heck out of the metal band at the top, it’s still noticeable especially after long listening sessions.